Playoff slots at stake as curtains fall on second division league

Group A
Nyagatare FC vs Rwamagana City 2:30pm
Vision JN vs Gitikinyoni
AS Muhanga vs UR FC
Akagera vs Vision FC
Aspor vs Sorwathe FC 3:30pm

Group B
Sec Academy vs Etoile de l’Est 1pm
La Jeunesse vs Heroes FC 2:30pm
Isonga FC vs Miroplast FC
Rugende FC vs Esperance

Gasabo vs United stars 2:30pm

The 2016/17 second division regular season football league concludes on Saturday with matches at different grounds across the country.

After today’s games, the top four teams in Group A and B will advance to compete in the quarter-final playoffs scheduled for May 28. The two finalists earn promotion to the topflight league for next season.

In Group A, leaders AS Muhanga, with 45 points, and second-placed Rwamagana City FC, on 41 points, have already booked their quarter-final tickets leaving third-placed Vision FC (36 points), as well as Sorwathe FC (in fourth) and fifth-placed Gitikinyoni FC, who are tied on 33 points, to battle for the remaining two places.

Vision FC will travel away to Rwinkwavu to face bottom side Akagera FC, while Sorwathe FC will be hosted by seventh-placed Aspor FC at Kicukiro ground with Gitikinyoni taking on Vision Jeunesse Nouvelle in Rubavu.

Unlike in Group A, the top four teams in Group B are already known, with Saturday’s games only helping to decide who finishes second, third and fourth.

Miroplast FC lead with 47 points and will come up against second-placed Isonga FC (41 points) at Ferwafa ground in Remera, while third-placed Heroes FC, with 39 points, will play La Jeunesse (7th) at Mumena Stadium.

Rugende FC, who are in fourth, will lock horns with second from bottom Esperance at Rugende ground.

The quarter-final first leg matches will be played on May 28 with the return leg matches set for June 3 while the semi-finals are scheduled for June 10 and 17 and the final on June 24.