Guma-Guma contestants unveiled

Ten contestants who will compete for the country’s most coveted annual music award, Primus Guma-Guma Super Star – Season 7 –, have been announced.

The artistes were named yesterday during an event that brought together media personalities, deejays, producers and music critiques in Kigali.

They were chosen by media houses, deejays (in groups), and production houses – each with one vote, totaling 35 votes.

The voting process was facilitated by Bralirwa, the sponsors of the competition, in collaboration with East African Promoters and Price Water Coopers.

The 10 nominees are as follows in no particular order:

Bull Dogg – Hip-hop
Danny Nanone – Hip-hop
Christopher Muneza – R&B
Social Mulla – R&B
Davis D – Afrobeat
Mico The Best – Afrobeat
Dream Boys – Group
Active – Group
Oda Paccy – Female artiste (Solo)
Charly & Nina – Female artistes (Group)

Unlike during the previous editions, this year will see competitors battling for the ultimate prize in strictly live shows in five road-shows across the country.

“As usual, we will be traversing the country holding musical shows,” Julius Kayoboke, the Bralirwa marketing director, told journalists prior to the voting event.

Bull Dog
Danny Nanone
Christopher Muneza
Social Mulla
Davis D
Mico The Best
Dream Boys
Oda Paccy
Charly & Nina

The competition has been running since 2011.

Tom Close won the first edition, then King James, Riderman, Jay Polly, Knowless Butera and Urban Boyz.

The voting will be open from the first road-show on May 20 to June 24, 2017.