Women’s V-ball: Six teams for preseason tournament

Six-time reigning champions RRA (L) and APR (R) are top favorites for the inaugural preseason tournament’s title. File.

Six teams in the women’s national volleyball league have confirmed their participation at the upcoming preseason tournament.

The inaugural edition of the two-day competition takes place this weekend, January 12-13, at Amahoro Stadium.

The tournament is being organized by new league entrants, the University of Tourism, Technology and Business Studies (UTB), in partnership with Rwanda Volleyball Federation.

According to UTB team manager, Philbert Mucyo, the draws will be held on Friday.

“We expect a competitive, since all the top teams have registered, and a well-organized competition. Draws for how teams will meet in the groups will be done on Friday,” said Mucyo.

He further revealed that the winning team will pocket Rwf 300,000 in cash prize while the beaten finalists and second runners-up will walk away with Rwf 200,000 and 100,000, respectively.

The six teams that are set to vie for the preseason tournament’s title include; six-time reigning champions Rwanda Revenue Authority (RRA), APR, IPRC-Kigali, Kigali Volleyball Club (KVC), University of Tourism, Technology and Business Studies (UTB) and St Aloys.

The new season for women’s volleyball league will get underway on January 18.

The 10-team league will comprise; RRA, APR, KVC, Ruhango, Saint Aloys Rwamagana, IPRC- Kigali, Saint Joseph Kabgayi, UTB, IPRC-South and UR- Huye Campus.




Have Your SayLeave a comment