Volleyball: Seventeen teams for Zone V Club Championship

APR and REG are among the four teams, along with Gisagara and UTB, that will represent Rwanda in the week-long regional tournament next month. Sam Ngendahimana.

Seventeen volleyball teams will take part in the inaugural edition of the regional Africa Zone V Club Championship from February 19-24 at Amahoro Stadium.

The teams, that have confirmed their participation, represent five countries out of twelve that comprise the Zone V region, but more teams are expected to register until the February 5 deadline.

Hosts Rwanda will field four teams; APR, UTB, REG and APR.

“We are expecting an exciting and highly competitive tournament. Teams have until February 5 to register,” said Gustave Nkurunziza, the Africa Zone V president.

He added that the tournament will benefit participating teams in terms of preparations ahead of this year’s CAVB African Club Championship to be staged in Egypt on April 1-10.

Confirmed teams:

Burundi:Amical club

Rwanda: Gisagara, REG, UTB and APR

Kenya: Equity Bank, Prison Mombasa and KDF

Uganda:Sports S, Nemo Stars, Ndejje, KAVC and UCU

Tanzania:Jeshi Stars, Tanzania Police, Magereza and JKT