Nyirangarama Sprint Rally to rev off local 2020 season

Giancarlo Davite, a Belgium-born Rwandan driver, won the 2019 Nyirangarama Sprint Rally in a race that only half of the entries managed to complete. Courtesy photo

Nyirangarama Sprint Rally has been confirmed as the race to kick-off the 2020 local season of the national rally championship. It is scheduled for March 21.

The one-day event will take place in the dusty roads of Kinihira, Cyinzuzi, and Tumba sectors – all in Rulindo District of the Northern Province – covering a total distance of 151.8 km.


The annual race is a joint effort between Enterprise Urwibutso, Rwanda Automobile Club (RCA) and Rulindo District.


“About 20 entries are expected for this year’s edition, which would be a new record. Eight Burundian crews have expressed interest in being part of the race,” said Eric Nzamwita, the head of the motorsport event’s organising committee.


Last year, 12 crews started but only six were able to complete the dramatic race, which was won by Davite Giancarlo. Mohamed Roshanali and Elefter Mitraros followed in second and third position, respectively.

According to RCA, four races make this year’s race calendar, with the others including the famous Mountain Gorilla Rally in May, the Huye Rally in September and Rallye de Mille Collines in November.

The Mountain Gorilla Rally will also serve as the third event of the 2020 African Rally Championship.

Jean-Claude Gakwaya, winner of the 2019 Mountain Gorilla Rally, is the reigning national champion.


Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News