Mukura are Cup kings!

After both sides failed to find the next in 90 minutes they continued to search for a winner in extra time but in vain.

Rayon Sports 0-0 Mukura (1-3 penalties)

Third place
APR 1-0 Sunrise

Goalkeeper Regis Aime Ingabire was the hero as Mukura Victory Sports finally ended their 26-year wait to lift the Amahoro (Peace) Cup.

Ingabire saved two penalties as his side beat Rayon Sports 3-1 in penalty shootouts after the teams played out a goalless draw at Kigali Stadium in Nyamirambo in a nail-biting and dramatic final last evening.

After both sides failed to find the next in 90 minutes they continued to search for a winner in extra time but in vain.

Rayon Sports won the second position

Towards the end of extra-time, Mukura coach Francis Haringingo introduced Ingabire for Omar Rwabugiri in readiness for the decisive penalties. And it proved a masterstroke!

Rayon Sports centre back Abdul Rwatubyaye was the first to take a spot kick, which he missed, before Gael Duhayindavyi made it 1-0 from the spot for Haringingo’s team. 

Ingabire then saved from Yassin Mugume with Kevin Hakizimana netting his spot kick for Mukura, before Ingabire again saved from Bonfils Caleb Bimenyimana.

Hassan Rugirayabo scored the winner for Huye-based side. 

APR FC won the third position

Mukura were also the cup winners in 1978, 1986, 1990 and 1992.

For winning the cup they earned the right to represent Rwanda in next year’s CAF Confederation Cup, as well as received Rwf10 million in prize money.

Mukura could have won the game in the second half of regular time but their forwards thwarted a string of chances.

Previously, they had lost three finals in a space of 10 years; first, 4-2 to APR – again in penalty shootout – in 1999; then 3-0 to Rayon Sports in 2005; and then 1-0 to the now defunct Atraco in 2009.

As first-runners this year, Rayon Sports, whose defeat last evening means they have missed out on the opportunity to represent the country on the continent next year, were rewarded Rwf5 million.

Last year’s winners APR, the new league champions, walked away with Rwf3m in prize money for finishing third after beating Sunrise FC 1-0 through Fiston Nkinzigabo.

Sunrise were rewarded with Rwf1 million for their run in the annual competition, the second biggest on the domestic football scene.

You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News