Mashami urges Amavubi players to push their limits

Of the 11 players that started against Seychelles on Tuesday, only three are eligible to feature in CHAN qualifiers since the rest play in foreign leagues. The three are, Emmanuel Imanishimwe (extreme right- standing row), goalkeeper Yves Kimenyi and Fitina Omborenga (#13). / Courtesy

International friendly match
September 18

DR Congo    Vs    Rwanda

2020 CHAN Qualifier
September 22

Ethiopia    Vs    Rwanda

VINCENT Mashami has demanded his Amavubi players not to be deceived by their recent ‘big result against lowly Seychelles’ in World Cup qualifiers as the focus turns on the upcoming double-header against Ethiopia for a ticket to the CHAN 2020.

The winner over the two legs will automatically secure a spot in next year’s African Nations Championships (CHAN) finals tournament, to be held in Cameroon.

Mashami released his 26-man provisional squad on Wednesday to prepare for the Ethiopia tie, just a day after Rwanda overwhelmed the Seychelles 10-0 (aggregate score) to advance to the group stage in qualifiers of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

“Everyone needs to start thinking of ways to win the next matches (against Ethiopia), we should clear Seychelles wins out of our heads,” he told Times Sport on Thursday.

However, there are new faces in the squad to face Ethiopia following the departure of nine foreign-based players back to their respective clubs. CHAN tournament is strictly designed for players who feature in their domestic leagues.

The team held their first training session on Thursday, and have just days before taking on their DR Congo counterparts in an international friendly match, due September 18 in Kinshasa,

After the friendly game, Mashami and his men will fly to Ethiopia for the first-leg in Makelle City, on September 22. The return leg is scheduled for October 19 in Kigali.

“It is going to be a difficult journey, players need to push their limits. We all have to.”

Full 26-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Eric Ndayishimiye, Umar Rwabugiri and Yves Kimenyi.

Defenders: Fitina Omborenga, Eric Iradukunda, Emmanuel Imanishimwe, Eric Rutanga, Thierry Manzi, Ange Mutsinzi, Latif Bishira and Aimable Nsabimana.

Midfielders: Andrew Buteera, Eric Nsabimana, Janvier Benedata, Eric Ngendahimana, Imran Nshimiyimana, Olivier Niyonzima, Jean Claude Iranzi and Haruna Niyonzima.

Forwards: Danny Usengimana, Ernest Sugira, Kevin Ishimwe, Kevin Hakizimana, Yannick Bizimana, Justin Mico and Djabel Manishimwe.