Hitimana, Yankurije are national cross-country champions

Noel Hitimana clinched gold in men’s category after covering the 10-kilometre distance in 31 minutes, 4 seconds and 72 microseconds. File photo.

Men (10km)

Noel Hitimana (APR) 31:04:72


Primien Manirafasha (Kamonyi) 31:07:81


Theophille Bigirimana (NAS) 31:28:08


Women (10km)

Marthe Yankurije (APR) 37:59:51

Alice Ishimwe (Nyamasheke) 40:12:87

Juliette Nyirantezimana (Kicukiro) 40:42:84

Rwanda international middle and long distance runners Noel Hitimana and Marthe Yankurije were on Saturday crowned champions of this year’s national cross- country championship.

The APR Athletics Club duo, Hitimana in men’s category, and Yankurije in women’s fray, dethroned James Sugira and Clementine Mukandanga, respectively, who won the titles last year.

Hitimana used 31 minutes, 4 seconds and 72 microseconds to cover the 10km, three seconds and nine microseconds ahead of first runner-up Primien Manirafasha who hails from Kamonyi Athletics Club. Theophille Bigirimana (31:28:08) completed top three.

Hitimana, 29, was the gold medalist in half-marathon of the 2018 Kigali International Peace Marathon held in May.

Joseph Nzirorera finished in fourth place after clocking 31 minutes, 35 seconds and 62 microseconds, while Yves Nimubona used 31 minutes, 40 seconds and 49 microseconds to finish fifth.

Meanwhile in the women’s category, Yankurije scooped gold after running the 10km in 37 minutes, 59 seconds and 51 microseconds. She was followed by Alice Ishimwe (40:12:87) in second place while Juliette Nyirantezimana (40:42:84) took the third place.

According to Rwanda Athletics Federation (RAF) president, Fidele Mubiligi, the country’s representatives at the 2019 IAAF World Cross-Country Championship, will be selected from the best performers in the national championship.



Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News