Five countries set for cricket memorial tournament

The women’s national cricket team will be looking to step up their game and challenge Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Mali for the title. File.

Five countries have confirmed their participation at this year’s Genocide Memorial Cricket Tournament, Times Sport has learned.

The cricket federations of Kenya, Uganda Tanzania, Mali and hosts Rwanda will be represented at the 2019 edition of the annual competition, which is scheduled for June 16-23 in Kigali.

According to Eddie Baraba Mugarura, president of the Rwanda Cricket Association, all the five teams will play against each other in a round-robin format to determine the winners.

Last year, when the tournament attracted three nations; Rwanda finished at the bottom. Kenya claimed the title, followed by Uganda.

Like all memorial tournaments across different sports, organised in June, the cricket memorial tournament is aimed at honouring victims of the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi, during which over one million people were killed in just a hundred days.

Rwanda has never won the tournament since its inaugural edition in 2013.

Follow The New Times on Google News