Felix Sempoma names roster for Tour du Faso

Moise Mugisha is part of Team Rwanda’s six-man roster for the 32nd Tour du Faso, which gets underway on Friday. File.


October 25


Stage 1: Individual Time trial (7km)


October 26


Stage 2: Nagréongo – Tenkodogo (150.5km)

October 27

Stage 3: Tenkodogo – Dapaong (145km)

October 28

Stage 4: Bitou – Koupéla (101.8km)

October 29

Stage 5: Boussé – Ouahigouya (135.5km)

October 30

Stage 6: Ouagadougou – Koudougou (118.3km)

October 31

Stage 7: Dédougou – Bobo-Dioulasso (182.5km)

November 1

Stage 8: Bobo-Dioulasso – Sindou (137.5km)

November 2

Stage 9: Bobo-Dioulasso – Diébougou (133.3km)

November 3

Stage 10: Kombissiri – Ouagadougou (100.6km)

FELIX Sempoma has named a strong squad as Team Rwanda return to the Tour du Faso for the first time since 2006.

The 32nd edition of the annual race starts Friday and will run through November 3.

Sempona, usually the national team’s assistant coach, will guide the six-man team in Burkina Faso. This year’s Tour du Faso will be 1,074km-long, under ten stages.

Led by the 2018 Tour du Rwanda champion Samuel Mugisha, the team also comprises Seth Hakizimana, Moise Mugisha, Didier Munyaneza, Jean Claude Uwizeye and Jean Claude Nzafashwanayo.

Samuel Mugisha goes into the ten-day race fresh from winning this year’s Lambert Byemayire Memorial race over the weekend, while Hakizimana will be making only his second international race.

The opening day will see a total of 90 riders, representing 15 teams, competing in a 7km prologue (individual time trial – racing against the clock) to determine who will go into Saturday’s Stage 2 in the yellow jersey.

By press time Tuesday, other confirmed African teams in the peloton included Algeria, Mali, Angola, Benin, Mali, Togo, Ghana and Côte d’Ivoire.


You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News