Basketball: REG seek to retain pre-season title

Rwanda Energy Group won the inaugural Agaciro Basketball Tournament title last Friday. File.

Rwanda Energy Group (REG) basketball team are targeting to win this year’s the upcoming pre-season tournament set for December 5 to 15.

Henry Mwinuka's side look to retain the title for a record third consecutive time after winning the 2017 and 2018 titles. They clinched last year's trophy following a 80-61 win over Espoir in the final.


Last Friday, REG won the inaugural Agaciro Basketball Tournament title after beating Patriots 61-50 at Kigali Arena.


This year’s edition will be played at Amahoro Indoor Stadium and Kigali Arena. REG and IPRC-Huye are the defending champions in the men and women’s category, respectively.


“After winning the first trophy last week, we want to keep the momentum as we head into a long and difficult season,” Mwinuka said.

16 teams, in the men's and women's categories, will take part in the preseason tournament.

The Bank of Kigali Basketball National League will kick off on January 10, 2020.

Men's teams: REG, Patriots, UGB, UR-Huye, Espoir, RP Musanze, APR, IPRC Huye, Shoot for The Stars, Trente Plus and Tigers.

Women's teams: APR, The Hoops, Ubumwe, IPRC Huye and UR Huye.

Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News   



Consider AlsoFurther Articles