APR take on AS Kigali in Heroes Cup opener

APR forward Muhadjiri Hakizimana (in black & white) vies for the ball with former AS Kigali skipper Soter Kayumba during a past league match at Kigali Stadium. Center-back Kayumba has since joined Kenyan side Sofapaka. File.

Jan. 26

APR                Vs        AS Kigali             15:30

Etincelles      Vs        Rayon                  18:00

Jan. 29

Etincelles      Vs        APR                      15:30

Rayon            Vs        AS Kigali             18:00

Jan. 31

AS Kigali       Vs        Scandinavia      15:30

Feb. 1

AS Kigali       Vs        Etincelles           15:30

APR                Vs        Rayon                  18:00

Last year’s runners-up APR lock horns with AS Kigali on the first day of Heroes Cup football tournament, which will be staged at Amahoro Stadium from January 26 to February 1.

The 2019 edition of the annual tournament will be a four-team contest, with all the teams playing against each other in a round-robin format.

The four teams namely; APR, AS Kigali, Rayon Sports and Etincelles, finished in the top four of the 2017/2018 Azam Rwanda Premier League season.

On Match Day one, scheduled for January 26, APR will face AS Kigali in the tournament’s opener before holders Rayon Sports take on Etincelles later in the day.

Three days later, on Day Two of the competition, Etincelles will be up against APR whilst Roberto Oliveira’s Rayon will entertain AS Kigali.

On January 31, it’ll be a clash between Rwanda’s two finest female teams with heavyweights AS Kigali take on Rubavu-based Scandinavia.

The final day of the tournament will coincide with the National Heroes Day, February 1, where AS Kigali will play Etincelles, a game that will precede the country’s biggest football fixture – between bitter rivals Rayon Sports and APR.

The tournament winners will pocket Rwf4 million on top of the trophy, Rwf2 million more than the first runners-up. The second runners-up and bottom side will walk away with Rwf1.5 million and Rwf1 million, respectively.

In the women’s category, the winning team will be awarded Rwf750,000 while the losing side will get Rwf500,000.

Courtesy of a superior goal difference, Rayon Sports won last year’s edition level on four points with first runners-up APR and second runners-up Police.