APR retain Ubutwari Cup title

APR players show off with the trophy after retaining Ubutwari Cup at Amahoro Stadium on Saturday. Photos: Sam Ngendahimana


Police        4-1      Mukura
Kiyovu      0-0      APR

APR FC have won the annual Ubutwari Cup title for a second consecutive year following their goalless draw against SC Kiyovu at Amahoro Stadium on Saturday.


The army side retained the title with seven points out of a possible nine, one better than first runners-up Police who thrashed Mukura 4-1, also on Saturday afternoon. 


In what was far from a classic game, coupled with heavy rain that rendered the pitch almost unplayable, APR were overall the better side and on a number of occasions came close to breaking the deadlock but forwards Djabel Manishimwe and Lague Byiringiro were wasteful.


Emmanuel Ruremesha’s SC Kiyovu could also have scored late in the second period but Fabrice Twizerimana and Mustapha Nsengiyumva were denied by Umar Rwabugiri who was fantastic in APR goal. 

In a post-match interview, Ruremesha regretted his side’s missed chances, but urged his players to quickly turn attention on upcoming matches. “My players did not use their chances.”

“We deserved better. The execution was poor, and, yes, it is disappointing but it is part of the game. We have to turn focus on upcoming engagements.”

Kiyovu, who finished third with four points, start their 2020 Peace Cup campaign against holders AS Kigali on Tuesday, February 4.

Police rout Mukura

In the meantime, Police came from behind to thrash Mukura 4-1 as they finished in second position. 

In-form Osee Iyabivuze, Isaie Songa, Dominique Savio Nshuti and Eric Ndengahimana were on the target with one goal each, while Rahman Abdoul Mounir netted the consolation goal.

Struggling Mukura finished bottom of the four-team the tournament without a single point. 


You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News   



Consider AlsoFurther Articles