APR release sixteen players

L-R: Jean-Claude Iranzi, Michel Rusheshangoga, Amran Nshimiyimana and Jean-Baptiste 'Migi' Mugiraneza are all among the released players. / Sam Ngendahimana

Local football giants APR have showed exit door to sixteen players as the club look for fresh start after their poor 2018/2019 season.

Among the released players is long-serving skipper Jean-Baptiste Mugiraneza. 


The army side finished second in the Azam Rwanda Premier League – seven points behind champions Rayon Sports – before bowing out of the Peace Cup from the round of last-16 a fortnight ago.


Mid the league season, APR led Rayon by 13 points.


With the unceremonious departure of the sixteen players, APR are expected to unveil a number of new signings soon as they step up preparations for the upcoming Cecafa Kagame Cup.

It is reported that some of the new arrivals at the club include former Rayon Sports centre-back Thierry Manzi and midfielder Olivier ‘Sefu’ Niyonzimana as well as goalkeeper Omar Rwabugiri from Mukura.

Full list of offloaded players:

Jean-Baptiste ‘Migi’ Mugiraneza, Moustapha Nsengiyumva, Denis Rukundo, Amran Nshimiyimana, Herve Rugwiro, Evode Ntwali, Steven Ntalibi, Yves Kimenyi, Michel Rusheshangoga, Mirafa Nzeyimana, Albert Ngabonziza, Jean-Claude Iranzi, Maxime Sekamana, Issa Bigirimana, Dominique Savio Nshuti and Ramadani Niragira.


Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News   



Consider AlsoFurther Articles