Amavubi off to Seychelles for crunch WC qualifier

Veteran midfielder Haruna Niyonzima is part of the Amavubi squad. Sam Ngendahimana.

2022 World Cup Qualifiers

First Leg, Sept. 5


Seychelles Vs Rwanda


Return Leg, Sept. 10


Rwanda Vs Seychelles

RWANDA national football team, Amavubi, left the country for Seychelles on Monday night aboard a RwandAir flight ahead of their 2022 World Cup qualifying first leg tie against Seychelles on September 5 at Stade Linite.

Head coach Vincent Mashami dropped Salomon Nirisarike, Justin Mico (Police), Andrew Buteera (APR), Djabel Manishimwe (APR) and Eric Radu Irambona (APR) ahead of the trip.

Forward Jacques Tuyisenge, who plies his trade with Angola’s Petro Atletico, was due to link up with his teammates in Seychelles.

Mashami said he had allowed Nirisarike time to settle in at his new club, Pyunik Football Club of Armenia.

“We have put together a good squad and hope to do well away from home,” he said of his team. “We are ready for the game. We are facing a tricky side and they will be at home, but we are ready for the test,” Mashami said.

The 20-man squad includes nine foreign-based players, with eleven drawn from the domestic league.

The return leg will be played on September 10 at Kigali Stadium. The overall winner from this two-legged fixture will earn the right to enter the group stage of the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.

Fourtreen countries are expected to qualify from this round of qualifiers, and will be joining 26 others – who were exempted from taking part in this preliminary qualifying phase – for the group stage.

Qatar will host the 2020 World Cup finals.

Amavubi Squad

Goalkeepers: Omar Rwabigirir (APR), Eric Bakame Ndayimiye (AS Kigali), Yves Kimenyi (Rayon Sports)

Defenders: Eric Rutanga (Rayon Sports), Emery Bayisenge (Saif Sporting Club, Bangladesh), Abdoul Rwatubyaye (Colorado Rapids/USA), Thierry Manzi (APR), Eric Iradukunda (Rayon Sports), Emmanuel Imanishimwe (APR) and Fitina Ombalenga (APR).

Midfielders: Kevin Muhire (Mir El Makkasa/Egypt), Yannick Mukunzi (Sandvikens IF), Djihad Bizimana (Waasland Beveren/Belgium), Haruna Niyonzima (AS Kigali), and Jean Claude Iranzi (Rayon Sports).

Forwards: Meddie Kagere (Simba SC/Tanzania), Jacques Tuyisenge (Petro Atletico/Angola), Ernest Sugira (APR), Muhadjiri Hakizimana (Emirates Club), and Patrick Sibomana).

Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News