AFCON Qualifiers: Mashami names provisional squad ahead of Guinea ties

Egypt-based striker Dany Usengimana (#9) is part of the 27-man squad. Sam Ngendahimana.

2019 AFCON Qualifiers (Group H)

October 12
Guinea Vs Rwanda
Ivory Coast Vs CAR

October 16
Rwanda Vs Guinea
CAR Vs Ivory Coast

VINCENT Mashami, the Amavubi head coach, has announced a 27-player provisional squad to start preparations ahead of their double-tie Group ‘H’ clashes against Guinea Conakry in AFCON qualifiers.

Guinea will host the first-leg on October 6 in Conakry before the group leaders travel to Rwanda for the return-leg four days later, at Kigali Stadium.

The provisional squad, which was announced on Wednesday afternoon, includes seven foreign-based players, while the rest are home-based players who feature for different clubs in the domestic Azam Rwanda Premier League.

Rayon Sports goalkeeper Abouba Bashunga is the sole new call-up in the team. His teammate Djabel Manishimwe, a midfielder, and striker Jacques Tuyisenge, who plays for Kenyan champions Gor Mahia, also return to the squad after missing the Ivory Coast game.

Major omissions include the Europe-based duo of centre back Faustin Usengimana (Khitan Sports, Kuwait) and Patrick Sibomana (FC Shakhtyor, Belarus).

The team will be holding their training sessions at Stade Amahoro effective Monday until October 8 when they will head to Guinea, four days before the game.

Amavubi are in Group H alongside Ivory Coast, Central Africa Africa (CAR) and Guinea.

After two match rounds, unbeaten Guinea lead the table standings with six points, Ivory Coast and CAR are second and third, respectively, with three points each, while Amavubi are at the bottom without a point.

Full 27-player provisional squad

Olivier Kwizera (Free State Stars, South Africa), Yves Kimenyi (APR), Abouba Bashunga (Rayon) and Omar Rwabugiri (Mukura).

Salomon Nirisarike (AFC Tubize, Belgium), Abdoul Rwatubyaye (Rayon), Herve Rugwiro (APR), Thierry Manzi (Rayon), Fitina Ombolenga (APR), Emmanuel Imanishimwe (APR), Eric Rutanga (Rayon) and Michel Rusheshangoga (APR).

Jean Baptiste Mugiraneza (APR), Yannick Mukunzi (Rayon), Eric Ngendahimana (Police), Kevin Muhire (Rayon), Djihad Bizimana (Waasland-Beveren, Belgium), Haruna Niyonzima (SC Simba, Tanzania), Djabel Manishimwe (Rayon), Andrew Buteera (APR), Ally Niyonzima (AS Kigali), Jean Claude Iranzi (APR) and Hussein Ciza (Mukura).

Meddie Kagere (SC Simba, Tanzania), Jacques Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Muhadjiri Hakizimana (APR FC) and Dany Usengimana (Tersana SC, Egypt).