Do you have an idea for The New Times to cover? Submit it here!

Judgment day

As rivals APR and Rayon spar for league title Today APR      v     Rayon SportKick off time:  3:30 PmVenue:  Amahoro stadium Entry FeePavilion:   5000Covered stands:  1000Stands:   500 Today’s other fixtures Police  v  AtracoMarines  v  UmurabyoKibuye  v  JeunesseEspoir  v  EtincellesAS-Kigali  v  Zebres  

As rivals APR and Rayon spar for league title

APR      v     Rayon Sport
Kick off time:  3:30 Pm
Venue:  Amahoro stadium
Entry Fee
Pavilion:   5000
Covered stands:  1000
Stands:   500

Today’s other fixtures
Police  v  Atraco
Marines  v  Umurabyo
Kibuye  v  Jeunesse
Espoir  v  Etincelles
AS-Kigali  v  Zebres

It surely going to be winner takes all as bitter rivals APR Fc and Rayon Sports meet in a fixture that has all ingredients of being the league title decider this afternoon at Amahoro stadium.

There is certainly no love lost between these two archrivals and besides being one game that could decide the destiny of the league title, there is a lot more at stake than just three points.

With just a game left to the end of the season after today, the two rivals share top spot on 55 points, which makes today’s fixture a significant one for either team.

Whichever side wins what promises to be a do or die clash this afternoon would give itself the higher chances of lifting the title come next Tuesday when the final fixtures are played.
A draw will be good news to the ears of Atraco fans whose team also has an outside chance to snatch the title from the jaws of their rivals, but only if all factors go their way.

History will favor the champions who have won two of the last three league meetings from last season but that could count to nothing against a seemingly revitalized Rayon side.

Last season, APR thumped their rivals 4-1 in the first round before drawing the second round tie and again this season, Andy Mfutila’s outfit came out 3-1 victors.

Chasing a record eight national league title, APR will be looking forward to defend the title they won last year at the same venue.

While the blues whose last league title came three years ago have changed three coaches this season as they look for the right formula to wrestle back the title that their demanding loyal faithful are craving for.

Both sides go into the game on the back of contrasting results from the previous outings where the military side lost 1-2 to Atraco while Rayon overcame AS-Kigali by the same score line.
“Everything is fine and everyone in the camp is focus to tomorrow’s (today) derby against Rayon Sport,” APR head coach Mfutila told Times Sport yesterday, adding that he has no injury worries to think about.

He noted, “I will use the best format that I deem right to win us maximum points, which is 3-4-3.”

His opposite number of Rayon, Antoinne Rutsindura also expressed his confident and determination to guide his new club to the title after years in the dark.

“It is only confidence, determination and sacrifice from my players that will drive us to victory,” acknowledged the former Zebra coach.

Adding that, “ We have spent days preparing for tomorrow’s (today) game and I’m truly convinced we can not only beat APR but also go on to win the league.”

The former AS-Kigali coach is Rayon’s third coach this season; he took over the reign from Bernard Ndiki [now at Police Fc] at the start of the second round and he his record reads won eight, drawn one and lost one.

Again Rutsindura will rely on the impressive form of newly signed striker Bogota Labama for goals and play-maker Kase Kalisa to do the donkey’s work in the midfield.

The Congolese born striker has taken the Primus League by storm, scoring 10 goals in as many matches, one goal behind the leading scorer Eric Serugaba of Etincelles who has played in all his team’s 24 matches.

Elsewhere, third placed Atraco take on ninth placed Police at Mumena grounds in Nyamirambo.

Probable Squads;
APR: Aime Ndizeye, Elias Ntaganda, Mbuyu Twite, Boniface Pawassa, Shyaka Okello, Manfred Kizito, Jannot Witakenge, Vincent Kayizi, Kabange Twite, Abbas Rassou, Joseph Bwalya.
Rayon Sport: Alexis Mugabo, Kalisa Mao, Harve Lontsi, Olivier Uwingabire, Aimable Rucogoza, Jimmy Kidega, Kalisa Kasee, Albert Nyumbaire, Haruna Niyonzima, Bogota Labama, J.C Bigirimana. 


Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News