Over 1,000 police officers promoted

President Paul Kagame on Thursday promoted over 1,000 police officers to varying ranks.

President Paul Kagame on Thursday promoted over 1,000 police officers to varying ranks.

According to a statement from Rwanda National Police, those promoted include 10 Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACP) who were elevated to the rank of Commissioner of Police (CP).

Notable among those promoted to CP include; Theos Badege, the Police spokesperson, Jean Marie Twagirayezu who heads the Criminal Intelligence Department, and Dennis Basabose the head of Counter-Terrorism in police.

Others are Rogers Rutikanga the Regional Police Commander in the North, Vincent Sano the head of Finance, William Kayitare who heads Peace Support Operations and Robert Niyonshuti, the principal staff officer in the office of the Inspector General of Police.

The other ACPs who were promoted to CP include Egide Ruzigamanzi, the acting head of Crime Intelligence and Rafiki Mujiji from the traffic and road safety department and Faustin Ntirushwa.

Meanwhile, President Kagame promoted 31 officers from the rank of Chief Superintendent of Police to Assistant Commissioners of Police while 18 Senior Superintendents of Police were promoted to Chief Superintendent of Police.

Also, 43 Superintendent of Police were promoted to Senior Superintendent of Police, according to the statement from RNP.

Officers retired

In a separate statement, the police announced that President Kagame retired 111 police officers also at different ranks;

Those retired include two Assistant Commissioners of Police, four Chief Superintendents of Police, six Senior Superintendents of Police, 17 Superintendents of Police, 19 Chief Inspectors of Police, 62 Inspectors of Police and one Assistant Inspector of Police.

“The RNP leadership thanks those who have been retired for their dedication and sacrifice in ensuring safety and security of our country,” reads the statement.




Have Your SayLeave a comment