Giancarlo to be flagged off third in Pearl Rally

Provisional start list (top 10): P. Lwakataka (Subaru N8)J. Whyte (Subaru N10)D. Giancarlo (Subaru N10)R. Ssebuguzi (Evo9)J. Mangat (Subaru N12)
Giancarlo’s yellow Subaru will be in action this afternoon. (File photo)
Giancarlo’s yellow Subaru will be in action this afternoon. (File photo)

Provisional start list (top 10):

P. Lwakataka (Subaru N8)
J. Whyte (Subaru N10)
D. Giancarlo (Subaru N10)
R. Ssebuguzi (Evo9)
J. Mangat (Subaru N12)
C. Muhangi (Subaru N 12)
C. Fitidis (Subaru N12)
N. Mutebi (Subaru N4)
S. Semujju (Subaru N10)
S. Muwonge (Subaru N10)

RWANDA’s Davite Giancarlo is set to be flagged off in third position when the KCB Pearl of Uganda gets underway this evening with a Super Special Stage at Lubiri.

The national and KCB East Africa rally challenge defending champion and Fitidis Christakis will be Rwanda’s flag bearers at the three-day race which has attracted 21 drivers from Uganda, Kenya, Rwanda and Zimbabwe.

Giancarlo will roll his Subaru Impreza N10 in third position after Uganda’s former national champion Ponsiano Lwakataka and Zimbabwean Jamie Whyte.

After two rounds of the Africa Rally Championship (ARC), Zimbabwean Jamie Whyte is cruising in defense of his continental crown.

The Zimbabwean, who is the star attraction at the rally, leads the ARC log with 76 points, 21 ahead of Giancarlo in second place.

Ronald Sebuguzi is fourth, Jas Mangat is fifth while 1999 African champion Charles Muhangi, returning to action after a two-year sabbatical, is sixth.

Christakis will be flagged off seventh, Nasser Mutebi is eighth, Shafiq Semujju is ninth and Susan Muwonge will be flagged off tenth respectively.


You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News