Who will win big at Africa’s ‘Oscars’

Nominees for the 6th annual Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) have been announced.

The announcement for the 2018 edition was made late last month by Nigerian comedian, Bovi, and Ghanaian actress, Joselyn Dumas, on Africa Magic channels on DStv and GOtv respectively.

This year’s nominees list see the heavyweights in the movie industry battle it out in all 27 categories.

The award ceremony is scheduled for September 1.

See full list of nominees below.

Best Actor in a comedy
Kalu Ikeagwu - Dr Meekam
IK Ogbonna - Excess Luggage
Blossom Chukwujekwu - The Big Fat Lie
Odunlade Adekola - A Million Baby
OC Ukeje - Potato Potahto
Jimmy Olukoya - Guyn Man
Best Actress in a comedy and TV series.
Rita Dominic - Big Fat Lie
Adesua Etomi - 10 days in Sun City
Queen Nwokoye - Excess Luggage
Bimbo Ademoye - Backup Wife
Dakore Akande – Isoken
Nyce Wanueri - Auntie Boss

Best cinematography movies/TV series
Tatu - Akpe Ododoru
Idemuza - Dickson Godwin
T-Junction - Lester Millado
The Torture - Rwamusigazi Kyakunzire
Okafor’s Law - Yinka Edward
Alter Ego - Bishop Blunt/Adeoye Adeniyi

Best supporting actor
Saidi Balogun - Banana Island Ghost
Tomiwa Edun - Banana Island Ghost
Falz - New Money
Kunle Idowu - Idahosa Trails
Gabriel Afolayan - Okafor’s Law
Wale Ojo - Betrayal

Best supporting actress
Toyin Aimakhu - Tatu
Dorcas Shola Fapson - Banana Island Ghost
Funlola Afofiyebi-Riami – Tatu
Ebele Okaro - Blackrose
Lydia Forson - Isoken
Emem Inwang - Alter Ego

Best actress in a drama/TV series
Agaba Joan - The Torture
Keira Hewatch - The Witness Box
Miriam Kayode - Children of Mud
Cinderella Sanyu - Bella
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde - Alter Ego
Lilian Echelon - Black Rose

Best actor in a drama series
Wale Ojo - Alter Ego
Kalu Ikeagwu - Benevolence
Rushabiro Raymond - The Torture
Adjetey Anang - Keteke
Adjetey Anang - Sidechic Gang
Chris Attoh - Esohe

Best movie West Africa
Potato Potahto - Shirley Frimpong-Manso
Alter Ego - Moses Inwang - Esther Eyibo
Isoken - Jade Osiberu
Tatu - Don Omope, Yolanda Okereke, Segun Arinze, Tolu Awobiyi
Children of Mud - Imoh Umoren
Lotanna - Ifan Micheal

Best movie East Africa
18 Hours - Phoebe Ruguru
Devil’s Chest - Hassan Mageye
The Forbidden - Kizito Samuel Saviour
Rain - Mathew & Eleanor Nabwiso
Bella - Math Bish

Best movie Southern Africa
Descent - Awal Abdulfatai
The Road to Sunrise - Shemu Joyah
Salute! - Phillipe Talavera
Jomako Black Democracy - Abraham Kabwe
Nyasaland - Joyce Mhango Chavula
Best director
Moses Inwang - Alter Ego
Aloaye Omoake - Idemuza
Asurf Oluseyi - Hakkunde
Don Omope - Tatu
Jade Osiberu - Isoken
Mulindwa Richard - The Torture
Shirley Frimpong-Manso - Potato Potahto

Best overall movie
Potato Potahto - Shirley Frimpong-Manso
Alter Ego - Moses Inwang
18 Hours - Phoebe Ruguru
Devil’s Chest - Hassan Mageye
Descent - Awal Abdulfatai
The Road to Sunrise - Shemu Joyah

Best TV series
Gina and Friends - Paul Igwe
Professor Johnbull - Tchidi Chikere
Papa Ajasco Reloaded - Wale Adenuga
This Is It - Dolapo Adeleke
Relatives - Tunde Adegbola.

By Premium Times.

Have Your SayLeave a comment

Consider AlsoFurther Articles