Upcoming artistes shine at 2018 Groove Awards

The winners of this year’s Groove Awards were unveiled on Sunday night in Kigali.

This annual ceremony saw many up-and-coming artistes and worship teams awarded for the first time.


Serge Iyamuremye was the night’s winner, bagging two top awards; ‘Worship Song of the Year’ and ‘Video of the Year’.


Bosco Nshuti was awarded ‘Male Artiste of the Year’ while Aline Gahongayire bagged ‘Female Artiste of the Year’. Gentil Misigaro won ‘Diaspora Artiste of the Year’.


Ambassadors of Christ Choir won ‘Choir of the Year’ while Goshen Choir won ‘Upcountry Choir of the Year’.

The ceremony which took place at Kigali Marriott Hotel was graced by pastors, gospel artistes, producers, DJs and the public. This year’s theme was ‘Re-ignite and build’ to inspire partners in the gospel music industry to work together and develop it. The theme was drawn from Nehemiah 2:17-18.

Unlike the previous edition, the 2018 Groove Awards had a new format, and winners were determined by a panel of judges instead of the public. Also, new categories such as ‘Collabo Song of the Year’, ‘Group of the Year’, ‘Afro-Pop Song of the Year’, ‘Upcountry Artiste of the Year’ and ‘Upcountry Choir of the Year’ were added.

According to Noel Nkundimana, the chairman of the Groove Awards panel, the winners were selected based on their work, including songs, popularity and concerts.

Evans Mwenda, commonly known as DJ Spin, the head of Groove Awards Rwanda, said the competition aims at supporting, elevating and developing artistes’ talent.

Also, the night featured performances by Aline Gahongayire, The Pink, Eddie Mico, Dorcas, Colombus, NPC, Shema, Freddy Don, Oliver the Legend, Emmy Payton, Holy Move of Praise Drama Team and the Sparks Drama Team.


Male artiste of the Year: Nshuti Bosco

Female artiste of the Year: Aline Gahongayire

Choir of the Year: Ambassador of Christ Choir

New Artiste, New Group of the Year: Trinity Worship Center

Ministry / Group of the Year: Healing Worship Team

Song of the Year: Turakomeye by Alarm Ministries

Worship Song of the Year: Biramvura by serge Iyamuremye

Hip hop Song of the Year: intwaro z’Imana by The Pink

Collabo Song of the Year: Indahiro by Aime Uwimana featuring Israel Mbonyi

Afro pop Song of the Year: Naganze remix by Colombus

Dance Group of the Year: Healing Stars Drama Team

Christian Website of the Year: Iyobokamana.com

Radio Presenter of the Year: Vainqueur Calvin Mutsinzi

Radio Show of the Year: The Gospel Zone, Authentic Radio

TV show of the Year: RTV Sunday Live

Upcountry Artist of the Year: Ezra Joas

Upcountry Choir of the Year: Goshen Choir

Outstanding Contributor: Apostle Alice Mignone

Songwriter of the Year: Issa Noel Kalinijabo

Diaspora Artiste of the Year: Gentil Misigaro

Audio Producer of the Year: Boris pro

Video Producer of the Year: Fefe

Video of the Year: Yari Njyewe by Serge Iyamuremye



Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News