Rwandan beauty queen sets her eyes on the Miss World crown

In three weeks time, the new Miss World beauty queen will be unveiled to the world. This year’s edition of the pageant will be held in China, in the popular beach city of Sanya in southern China’s island province of Hainan, on December 8.

It is the 68th edition of the pageant that was launched in 1951.

This year, Rwanda is being represented by reigning Miss Rwanda 2017, Liliane Iradukunda, who travelled to Sanya earlier this month. She ascended to the throne in February this year, replacing Miss Rwanda 2017, Elsa Iradukunda, who also represented Rwanda at Miss World last year.

Jolly Mutesi, Miss Rwanda 2016 made Rwanda’s debut at the Miss World beauty pageant that year.

In competition this year, are contestants from over 120 countries. India’s Manushi Chhillar, the reigning Miss World will crown her successor at the end of the event.

A total of twenty four African countries are taking part in Miss World 2018. They are:

Rwanda, Algeria, Angola, Equatorial Guinea, Egypt, Botswana, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Sierra Leone, Lesotho, Guinea Bissau, Ghana, South Africa, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Nigeria, South Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Senegal.

Established in 1951, Miss World is the oldest running beauty pageant in history.

India, whose Manushi Chhillar will be relinquishing the crown on December 8, holds a record six Miss World title holders. In 1966, Reita Faria became the first Indian to be crowned Miss World. She was followed by Aishwariya Rai in 1994, Diana Haydon in 1997, Yukta Mookhey in 1999, Priyanka Chopra in 2000, and Manushi Chhillar last year.