Celebrities, showbiz companies recognised at Made-in-Rwanda Awards

Some of the tonight’s winners pose for a group photo on stage with their awards. / Courtesy photos

All eyes were on who the winners would be at the second edition of ‘Made-in-Rwanda Awards’ as celebrities and companies from across sectors in the local showbiz industry on Saturday evening gathered at Kigali Convention Centre for the awarding event.

The annual awards are organised by Kalisimbi Events in partnership with East African Youth Development Agency, to recognise different personalities and companies, that have made a difference in the past twelve months in line with supporting the Made-in-Rwanda initiative.

Singer Nsengiyumva (left) and actress Bahavu were among showbiz personalities who bagged awards at the Made-in-Rwanda Awards on Saturday. 

The awards also aimed at recognising the role of showbiz industry in promoting the Made-in-Rwanda policy among other things.

A number of nominated celebrities had pulled out of the awards expressing their doubts on how the awards were being organised while others said that they were not contacted before being included in the categories. Others doubted the credibility of the awards.

Kigali Convention Centre was the place to be on Saturday, as people showed up in huge numbers for the awards ceremony.

Daymakers walked away with the best comedian of the year award.

However, it did not stop organisers to move on and  acknowledge those who were willing to be part of the awards.

The awards were given in 34 different categories varying from music, fashion and comedy to film, photography, sports and innovations. Below are some of the winners.

Award winners:

Female Celebrity Influencer of the Year: Jolly Mutesi, Miss Rwanda 2016
Best Photographer of the Year: Constantin Ashimwe
Fashion Designer of the Year: Delphine designs
Traditional Troupe of the Year: Inyamibwa
Female Model of the Year: Christelle Teta
Male Model of the Year: Eric Sekamana
Actor of the Year: Emmanuel Ndayizeye (Nick, City Maid)
Song of the year: Mariya Jeanne by Francois Nsengiyumva
Music Label of the Year: The Mane
Best Male Artiste of the Year: Ibrahim Cyusa
Female Artiste of the Year: Clarisse Karasira
Music Radio of the Year: Kiss FM
Best Makeup Artist: Souvorov Beauty
Best Entertainment radio: Flash FM
Best DJ: Miller
Best Female Celebrity: Jolly Mutesi
Best Fashion Show: Tsapa fashion show, TV1
Best Fashion Event of the Year: Rwanda Cultural fashion show
Best Actress of the Year: Jeannette Bahavu, aka Diane (City Maid)
Best TV series of the year: Seburikoko
Best Radio sports talkshow of the Year: 10 Sports, Radio 10
Best Comedian of the Year: Daymakers
Best Movie Interpreter: Rocky Kirabiranya
Best Gospel Song of the Year: Ndanyuzwe by Aline Gahongayire
Best Fashion Boutique of the Year: Masha Boutique
Best Innovator: Gura Ride


You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News