Volleyball: 22 teams for Heroes Cup tourney

Rwanda Revenue Authority (RRA) beat rivals APR to win the 2018 Heroes Day tourney in women's category. File

Twenty-two teams will  take part in this year’s National Heroes Day volleyball tournament scheduled for January 25-27 at Amahoro Stadium.

Last year, Giragara (men) and Rwanda Revenue Authority (women) were winners of the inaugural edition after defeating Rwanda Energy Group (REG) and APR in straights (3-0) sets in the finals, respectively.

The annual tournament is organized by Rwanda volleyball federation in partnership with the Chancellery for Heroes, National Orders and Decorations of Honour.

Full 22-team list of teams

Pro category


Group A:Gisagara, APR, IPRC-East and IPRC-West

Group B:REG, UTB and Kirehe


Group A:RRA, St Aloys, IPRC-South and Ruhango

Group B:APR, St Joseph, UTB, KVC and IPRC-Kigali

Youth category

Men’s Div2 teams: St Joseph, DBG, CXR, Nyaruguru, PSVF and GSOB