UTB to organise inaugural women’s preseason tourney

UTB women’s volleyball club will be making their debut season in the national volleyball league next year. File photo.

NEWLY formed University of Tourism, Technology and Business Studies (UTB) women’s volleyball club have announced that they will organise the first edition of the women’s preseason tournament.

According to a tentative programme, the two-day tournament is scheduled for January 13-14, 2019 at Amahoro Stadium.

The versity side were established in October and have already been approved by the local volleyball general assembly as the latest entrants of the 2018/2019 season, along with Huye-based IPRC- South and University of Rwanda – College of Arts and Social Sciences.

In an interview with Times Sport on Tuesday, team manager Philbert Mucyo said that UTB wrote to Rwanda Volleyball Federation (FRVB) last Friday informing them of their plan to organize the tournament but by press time, they were yet to hear from the federation.

“We are waiting for a response from the federation but we are confident it will be a positive one. I don’t see why we would be denied the permission to organize the tournament,” said Mucyo.

He added that, the “men’s teams have been playing pre-season tournaments for the past two years, and we thought their women counterparts deserved one too. It is a good platform for teams to test their players, get ready and embrace the competition mood ahead of the league’s return.”

Ahead of the women’s volleyball top tier league, which will start late January, the Kicukiro-based side have completed the signing of setters Yvette Igihozo and Belise Dusabe, centre Louise Muhoza, left-attacker Benitha Mukandayisenga and Uganda-born Sharon Amito.

It is also reported that they are closing in on hijacking Rwanda international Charlotte Nzayisenga from six-time reigning champions Rwanda Revenue Authority.

The 2019 women’s volleyball league will be comprised of ten teams namely; RRA, APR, KVC, Ruhango VC, Saint Aloys Rwamagana, IPRC- Kigali, Saint Joseph Kabgayi, UTB, IPRC-South and UR- Huye.