Thirteen clubs set for Taekwondo Champs

Rwanda Taekwondo Federation confirmed that 13 local clubs will compete in the 7th edition of the annual Taekwondo National Championship. File.

THIRTEEN clubs from around the country will compete in the 7th edition of the annual Taekwondo National Championship scheduled for January 3-6 at NPC Gymnasium and at Amahoro Stadium.

The development was confirmed to Times Sport on Monday by Rwanda Taekwondo Federation (RTF) president, Placide Bagabo, saying that this event will have thirteen clubs during the competition.

The four-day competition will comprise of youth, junior and senior (in both men and women’s categories) competitions as well as a Para-taekwondo section, designed for fighters with physical disabilities.

In a separate interview, Head Coach of Dream Fighters who are the title holders, Basil Munyaneza, said they are keen to retain this edition.

“We have had good preparations and we are ready to face other clubs and try to win medals. We have been training for the tournament and we believe we will do better. It is a big challenge to retain the title but we will be ready for the challenge ahead of us” said Munyaneza.

Dream Fighters club from Kimironko claimed the 2017 title, followed by Gatenga-based Dream Taekwondo while Unity Taekwondo finished third.

Participants at Taekwondo National Championship include: Dream Fighters defending champions, Blues sky Academy, Kigali Olympic Taekwondo Academy, Police Taekwondo team, Kivu vision, Lion power, IYF Taekwondo club, Kigali Justice Taekwondo Club, Better World Taekwondo club, Dream Taekwondo Club, Unity Taekwondo Club and Nyamata Taekwondo Club.