Rugby: Twelve teams for memorial tournament

Thousand Hills Rugby players battle for the ball in a past match against Resilience Rugby Club at Amahoro Stadium. So far 12 teams have registered for the Genocide Memorial Tournament. (Sam Ngendahimana)

The sixth edition of the annual Genocide Memorial Rugby Sevens Tournament will take place on June 23 at Amahoro national stadium.

A total of twelve teams have signed up for the one-day competition.


This year’s competition will be contested by ten domestic teams, one team from the Democratic Republic of Congo and one side from neighbors Uganda.


According to Tharcisse Kamanda, the Secretary General of Rwanda Rugby Federation (RRF), the preparations for the event are in advanced stages and teams should expect stiff competition following the registration of foreign participants.


“This year’s tournament will be more entertaining for spectators and more competitive for participants since we have some teams from Uganda and DR Congo. So far so good in the preparations for the event,” Kamanda told Times Sport on Thursday.

Last year, holders Thousand Hills of Rwanda narrowly overcame Ugandan side Mbarara University, 13-12, to win the title.

The tourney is organized every year, since 2013, in memory of members of the sports community who were killed during the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi.

Full 12-team list for the tournament

Local teams: are: Thousand Hills, Remera Buffaloes, Muhanga, Kigali Sharks, Resilience, UR Grizzlies, Puma Kamonyi, Lion de Fer IPRC- Kigali and Tumba College.

Guest teams: Mbarara University (Uganda) and DR Congo’s Okapi Goma.

Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News