REG, IPRC- Kigali square off in Legacy Basketball Tourney

Rwanda Energy Group’s Walter Chris Nkurunziza drops off a stylish lay-up during a past league game against ESPOIR at Amahoro Stadium. Sam Ngendahimana.


Group A


UGB   Vs    APR 18:00


Group B


REG    Vs    IPRC Kigali 2:00

Local basketball powerhouse Rwanda Energy Group (REG) face league archrivals IPRC- Kigali on Friday night as the two sides fight for a bright start in the Legacy Basketball Tournament.

The three-day event gets underway today and will be climaxing on Sunday at Amahoro Stadium.

Ordained at commemorating late Aimable Shampiyona and Jean de Dieu Nizeyimana, the tournament’s opener will see organizers United Generation Basketball (UGB) up against former giants APR in Group A – starting at 6pm.

The opener will be followed by the clash between Patrick Ngwijuruvugo’s REG and Albert Buhake’s IPRC- Kigali in Group B. The game kicks-off at 8pm.

Talking to Times Sport on Thursday, REG head coach Ngwijuruvugo was confident that his side has “what it takes” to overcome IPRC- Kigali and every other opponent in the tournament enroute to lifting the title come Sunday.

“We are ready for the competition, everyone on the team is. Much as we want to use it as a test to players, we also want to win the title so it can boost the morale and confidence to players ahead of the 2018-19 season, which starts on November 23,” the Burundian tactician said.

After Friday’s much awaited fixtures, the tournament will continue on Saturday with four games on the menu in men’s category and two in women’s showpiece.

Reigning league champions, Patriots, will face APR with IPRC Kigali taking on Espoir in the morning before Patriots return to action in the evening against UGB whereas REG will be up against six-time league champions Espoir.

In women’s category, IPRC- South will be entertaining The Hoops Rwanda whilst Ubumwe will have to see off APR for a berth to Sunday’s final.

While the women’s competition has attracted four teams, their male counterparts have six teams in the contest, under two groups.

Group A is comprised of Patriots, APR and UGB while Pool B includes REG, IPRC- Kigali and Espoir.


Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News