Ntagengwa, Kavalo retain Beach V-ball Circuit title for fourth year

Patrick Kavalo Akumuntu (left) and Olivier Ntagengwa (right) are seen here being awarded at Palm Beach yesterday after retaining the title for a fourth year running. Courtesy

The pair of Olivier Ntagengwa and Patrick Kavalo Akumuntu has retained the Beach Volleyball Circuit title for a fourth successive time, since 2015.

The duo clinched this year’s edition at Palm Beach, in Rubavu District, on Sunday after easing past Pacifique Iradukunda and Fleury Muyuku in two sets; 21-14 and 21-17, respectively.

Vincent Dusabimana and Uziel Masizo Ndagijimana took third place.

For their effort, winners Ntagengwa and Kavalo took home Rwf150000, finalists Iradukunda and Muyuku got Rwf100000 whereas Dusabimana and Ndagijimana were pocketed Rwf80000.

In the women’s category, Charlotte Nzayisenga and Judith Hakizimana lifted the title after beating Lea Uwimbabazi and Belyse Irakoze in the final. The game was also decided in straight sets, 21-11 and 21-13, respectively.

Benitha Mukandayisenga and Claudine Musanabageni finished in third position.

Similar to their male counterparts, Nzayisenga and Hakizimana also walked away with Rwf150000, second-placed pair of Uwimbabazi and Irakoze took Rwf100000 while the second runners-up were awarded Rwf80000.

Julius Kagarama Kansiime and Fidele Nyirimana won the title in male veterans’ category while Lt Col. Patrice Rugambwa and teammate Albert Mihigo finished second.

The women’s title was claimed by Dorcas Ndasaba and Providence Mukamurenzi after beating Gerturde Kubwimana and Scholastique Bitukuze in the final.

Marie Chantal Kabila and Nadine Mwiseneza settled for the third place.


Follow The New Times on Google News






Consider AlsoFurther Articles