Mukura target ‘crucial’ away win at Hilal Obayed

David Nshimiyimana scored the lone goal as Mukura ousted South African side Free State Stars, over two legs, in the preliminary round last week. Sam Ngendahimana.


Hilah Obayed Vs Mukura 18:30

Rwanda’s representatives in the 2018/2019 Caf Confederation Cup, Mukura, flew to Sudan  on Thursday morning aboard an Ethiopian Airlines flight looking to get a positive result when they take on El Hilal SC El Obeid on Saturday.

Mukura set the date with the Sudanese side in the first round of the continental competition after beating South Africa’s Free State Stars in the preliminary round on December 5.

After the two sides’ first-leg clash at El Obeid/El Obeid Stadium on Saturday, Francis Haringingo’s men will return home and immediately begin preparing for the decisive encounter, which is scheduled for December 22 at Huye Stadium.

Speaking to this publication before the team’s departure, the Burundian tactician said he had faith in his players.

“I believe we have a squad that is good enough to get a positive result in Sudan. We need to keep it tight and make sure we don’t concede silly goals. We have prepared well and I trust my players will do a good job,” said Haringingo

“Everyone is raring to go and that’s a good attitude. We intend to play attacking football but at the same time be cautious in defence.”

Peace Cup holders Mukura are playing the continental competition for the first time in 18 years while their opponents, Hilah Obayed, reached the round of last eight on their debut last year.

The match will be handled by South Sudanese referee Ring Nyier Akech Malong, assisted by Gasim Madir Dehiya and George Primato Oliba while Michael James Alier is the reserve referee.

Muhsin Ali Rajab, from Zanzibar, will the match commissioner.


Goalkeepers: Omar Rwabugiri and Ismael Wilonja

Defenders: Saidi Iragire, David Nshimiyimana, Janvier Mutijima, Basile Hatungimana and Hassan Rugirayabo.

Midfielders:Gael Nduhayindavyi, and Alexis Nkomezi

Yussuf Lule Munyakazi, Saidi Iddy and Abdul Kalim Gashugi.

Forwards:Hussein Ciza, Christophe Ndayishimiye, Flank Lomami, Innocent Ndizeye, Bertrand Iradukunda and Onesme Twagizimana.