Mugabe excluded from FIBA World Cup qualifiers’ squad

National team captain Aristide Mugabe is not part of the provisional squad of 23-man to start preparations for the 2nd round of FIBA World Cup. Sam Ngendahimana.

Skipper Aristide Mugabe has been excluded from Rwanda’s 23-man squad for the upcoming the 2nd round of FIBA world cup qualifiers which set on February 22-24.

Coach Vladimir Bosnjak has named a provisional squad of 23-man to start preparations of the 2nd round of FIBA World Cup qualifiers which start on Wednesday this week.

According to local basketball governing body (FERWABA) the squad will start training on Wednesday at Amahoro Indoor Stadium with morning and evening training sessions.

The vice president of the federation, Richard Nyirishema told Times Sport that FIBA has not yet confirmed the country that will host the 2nd round of the qualifiers but the most probable host is Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire.

“I saw the players being named (to the squad) and no one talked to me. It is the choice of coaches and I respect that. Anytime I will be called upon I will be available” 30-year old Mugabe said when contacted.

National team assistant coach, Maxime Mwiseneza, said that they were not impressed by the Patriots’ captain’s current form and so they decided to use other younger players.

“We need to see how other players especially the youngsters can cope with such a match of this magnitude,” Mwiseneza added

Mugabe has been a permanent feature in topflight basketball for over a decade, having made his debut with Rusizi Basketball Club in 2007.

The celebrated point guard served Rusizi for two years after which he joined Espoir BBC in 2009 until 2015 when he joined Patriots.

The national men’s senior basketball team ended their five-year winless streak against Uganda in July, finally, beating Uganda 92-79 in a winner-take-all clash to advance to the second round of the 2019 FIBA World Cup – African Qualifiers.

Provisional squad:

Points Guards:Sedar Sagamba, Ali Kazingufu Kubwimana, Wilson Nshobozwabyosenumukiza and Emmanuel Iyakaremye.

Guards and forwards: Dieudone Ndizeye, Steven Hagumintwari, Didier Ishimwe, Chris Walter Nkurunziza, Emile Galois  Kazeneza, Thierry Nkundwa, Pascal Niyonkuru, Fiston Irutingabo and Dan Manzi.

Power Forwards and Centers: Ally Ruzigande, Elia Kaje, Kami Kabange, Olivier Shyaka, Shaffi Habineza, Olivier Kamilindi, Bienvenu Niyonsaba, Fabrice Mugiraneza, Olivier Kamanzi and Theo Niyibizi.