Ferwafa confirms 13 teams for new Div2 league

Rwamagana City start the new season against Vision J.N. on Saturday. File.

THE Rwanda Football Federation, Ferwafa, has confirmed that only 13 teams will comprise the new 2019/2020 second division league, which gets underway on Saturday.

“Other teams failed to meet the requirements,” reads part of a statement from Ferwafa.


The second tier league was initially due to start last weekend, but Ferwafa postponed it by one week to allow the teams more time to fulfill the requirements.


Unlike in the past, including last season, where teams were drawn in two groups, this season will see all the 13 teams meeting in a home-and-away format, just like the topflight league.


With the new requirements to compete in the lower division league, which include legal status and certified coaches, the number of teams has dropped from 23, of last season, to 13 this term.

The opening day will have three matches on the card; with Amagaju hosting Interforce at Nyagisenyi Stadium, Rwamagana City taking on Vision JN at Rwamagana grounds, while newcomers Impessa take on Pepiniere at Camp Kigali turf.

The 13 teams making the league:

Rutsiro, Amagaju, Rwamagana City, Impessa, UR, Etoile de L’Est, Gorilla, Interforce, Vision JN, Pepiniere, Vision, Akagera and Alpha.


You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News   



Consider AlsoFurther Articles