DRC clash is must-win, says Mulisa

Rwanda and DR Congo played out a goalless draw in the first-leg last week.
Amavubi Under-23 players sing the national anthem before their 0-0 draw with the Democratic Republic of Congo at Umuganda Stadium, in Rubavu District, last Wednesday. Courtesy

AFCON U23 Qualifiers 

First round (return-leg)


DR Congo Vs Rwanda 16:00

JIMMY Mulisa, the head coach of Rwanda U23 football team, has insisted that his side will be looking for victory and ticket to the second round when they face DR Congo on Tuesday.

Following goalless spoils they shared last week at Umuganda Stadium in the first-leg, DR Congo host their Rwandan counterparts at Stade des Martyrs – starting at 4pm CAT – in the return-leg of their first round tie in the ongoing qualifiers for the 2019 Africa U23 Cup of Nations.

While the hosts face a must-win test to make it to the second round, a draw of goals will be enough for Mulisa’s side to go past the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and set date with Morocco in the next round due in March next year.

However, former APR forward Mulisa has warned that his men are in Kinshasa to fight for victory rather than a draw.

“We are aware that a draw of goals will be enough to see us through but that’s not what we are looking for in Kinshasa – we are here to fight for victory,” said Mulisa.

Mulisa and his team are in the Congolese capital since Sunday.

He further added that, “I had not seen DR Congo play before the first-leg, which is why we struggled to score. Now I have an informed idea of how to approach their game.”

The third edition of the quadrennial AFCON U23 finals tournament is scheduled for August 8-22, 2019 in Egypt.

The tournament will determine three teams that will represent Africa at the 2020 Summer Olympic Games in Japan.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Fiacre Ntwali, Djihad Nzeyurwanda

Defenders: Aimable Nsabimana, Prince Buregeya, Ange Mustinzi, Placide Aimé Rwabuhihi and Jean Paul Ahoyikuye

Midfielders: Saleh Ishimwe, Djabel Manishimwe, Kevin Muhire, Dominique Savio Nshuti, Marc Govin Nshimiyimana and Blaise Itangishaka

Strikers: Innocent Nshuti, Abeddy Biramahire, Lague Byiringiro, Asmani Mousa Ahonshakiye and Samuel Gueulette




Have Your SayLeave a comment

Consider AlsoFurther Articles