Div2 league to start to November 23

Amagaju will feature in the second division following their relegation from the topflight league last season. File

The 2019/2020 second division football championship will start on November 23, Rwanda football federation (Ferwafa) has confirmed.

The new season of the lower division football will be made of 24 teams divided into two groups. However, by press time Wednesday, the two pools were yet to be determined.


After the group phase, the top four teams from each group will advance into the knockout playoffs – starting from quarter-finals – with the champions and beaten finalists being promoted to Rwanda Premier League for the 2020-21 season.


Gasogi United and Heroes FC were the two sides that earned promotion to the topflight league last season, replacing Amagaju and Kirehe who were relegated to the second tier league.




Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News