Cycling: Areruya retains ITT title

Joseph Areruya is the first rider to win the national championships ITT title back-to-back since Adrien Niyonshuti in 2016 and 2017. / Sam Ngendahimana

Road Race: Kigali – Kigali 9am

Individual Time Trial

Men’s elite & U23, top three
1. Joseph Areruya
2. Jean Bosco Nsengimana
3. Samuel Mugisha

Juniors, top three
1. Jean Eric Habimana
2. Bernabé Gahemba
3. Renus Uwihirwe Byiza

Women, top three
1. Josiane Mukeshimana
2. Jacqueline Tuyishime
3. Violette Neza Irakoze

JOSEPH Areruya pulled off a thrilling win on Saturday as he retained the Individual Time Trial (ITT) title in the national road championships.

The 23-year-old, who represents French side Delko–Marseille Provence KTM, was a whopping 54 seconds ahead of first runner-up Jean Bosco Nsengimana who used 54 minutes and 58 seconds to cover the 41km race against the clock in Nyamata, Bugesera District.

Samuel Mugisha, 21, completed top three with a 22 seconds behind further.

Riding for Skol Fly Club, fast-rising Moise Mugisha (55:43) finished in fourth position, while France-based Jean Claude Uwizeye (57:24) settled for fifth.

Areruya, the reigning African cyclist of the year 2018, also claimed the ITT title last year, and will be attempting to clinch his maiden road race championship Sunday, adding it to his famous victories such the 2017 Tour du Rwanda and the 2018 La Tropicale Amissa Bongo.

In the juniors’ category yesterday, Fly Club’s Jean Eric Habimana put up a stunning performance to win the ITT title in juniors’ category, while Jacqueline Mukeshimana, of Benediction Club, was the champion in women’s fray.

The championships continue Sunday with the road race where the juniors and women will ride 105.4km while the men’s elite and U23 riders will battle it out on a 159.3km circuit race in Kigali.

Didier Munyaneza, 21, is the reigning champion in men’s elite category.