Challengers, Charity Cricket Club crowned VR NAIDU T20 champs

Challengers Cricket Club clinched a record 5th V.R NAIDU T20 title on Sunday while Charity Cricket Club scooped the women’s title at Gahanga Oval.

Challengers defeated traditional rivals Telugu Royals by 4 runs in the final while Charity overcame a stiff challenge from White Clouds to lift the women’s title.  

In the men’s Division One, it was a closely contested finale. Telugu won the toss and elected to bat first with a scare of 134 runs off 6 balls in the allotted 20 overs per side.

Azhar Khoza, the best player of the match, smashed one six and six fours for the watchful 66 of 55 balls not out.

Prince Uwimanishaka contributed (28/27) hitting three fours while Eric Ndangamyambi (2/3)  run out Kumar Ramalingam and Sairam Gopala.

Telugu Royals skipper Samba Shiva scored 11/16, while Ivan Mitali, who chipped in with two fours, took Challengers one wicket.

Outgoing champions Telugu found it tough to negotiate the partnership of Siraje Nsubuga and Samal, while the victors looked modest in reply to manage 138/4 for 18.4 overs.

Off-spinner Siraje Nsubuga hit five fours for the mindful 34/30 not out, Samal smashed 59 not out, opening bowler Evode Mutuyimana contributed 26/27 and run out AKhoza/Samba Shiva.

Shiva was awarded for being the best bowler in the individual performance; Khoza was named best batsman; while Nsubuga was named the best player of the series.

In the women’s category, Charity surprised outgoing holders White Clouds to win the contest by 6 wickets. Charity won the toss, opting to bat first to post 56/4 in 15.1 overs.

At 35/20 balls not out from Immaculate Muhawenimana, and 27/47 from Diane Bimenyimana as well as 26 runs from Alice Ikuzwe, steered Charity to put up a much-winning performance as the Clouds chased for 55/10 in 16.2 overs.

Charity player Cathia Uwamahoro, who was thrilled with the victory, said that her team “deserved the title” since they were the better finalists.

As champion, Challengers and Charity walked away with trophies, gold medals as well as a cash prize of Rwf 100,000 each.

Runners-up Telugu and White Clouds pocked Rwf 50,000, a trophy and silver medals.

The best second Division Two teams, which played on April 29, also received their awards on the same day.

Kutchi Tigers (champions) had beaten runners Vikings in the men’s category while Oasis faced off with Sorwathe by 53 runs in women’s category.


Have Your SayLeave a comment