CECAFA Kagame Cup to return this year

Rayon Sports’ Olivier Sefu Niyonzima, Ange Mutsinzi and Faustin Usengimana during a previous match. Sam Ngendahimana.
CECAFA club cup will be held this year in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania after a two-year break. The two-week competition will run from June 30 through July 14. Azam FC won the last edition in 2015 after beating Kenya’s Gor Mahia 2-0 in the final.
Djibouti was the initial host but it is believed the tournament’s broadcast partner Azam TV influenced the change for security reasons.
KCCA, GorMahia, Rayon Sports, Simba SC, AZAM FC, LLB, St George El Hilal will play at Uwanja wa Taifa and Uhuru Stadium in Dar Es Salaam in Tanzania.
CECAFA received $1,000,000 FIFA grant that they will use to host all their championships this year including U17, Senior Women and Men’s competitions.
The U17 tournament will take place in Burundi, while Rwanda and Kenya will host the Senior Women’s and Men’s championships respectively.
Meanwhile, Burundi Football Federation (BFF) has postponed the CECAFA U-17 Championship to  April 14 to 29. The tournament was supposed to be held from April 1-15 .
The CECAFA U-17 tournament will be used to prepare for the qualifiers of the 2019 CAF U-17 Nations Cup tournament which will be held in a regional tournament format in Tanzania in August, 2018.
Uganda will have the chance to defend the title they won in 2009 when it was last held in Sudan.
Countries expected to have teams in the competition include Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Zanzibar, Ethiopia, Sudan, South Sudan, Djibouti, Somalia and Eritrea. 

Have Your SayLeave a comment