CAF Conf Cup: Rayon Sports optimistic ahead of Gor clash

Rayon Sports winger Kevin Muhire (with ball) during the 2018 Peace Cup final at Kigali Stadium on Sunday. Sam Ngendahimana.

Rayon Sports are optimistic to overcome Gor Mahia of Kenya when the two sides face off in their return-leg clash in Total Caf Confederation Cup on at Sunday at Kasarani Stadium in in Nairobi, Kenya.

Rayon Sports captain Thierry Manzi has warned the Blues are still in the contest, and will be looking to collect maximum points from their two remaining games, which would guarantee them a place in the quarterfinals of Africa’s second biggest club competition.


After struggling to get air tickets, the team finally leaves for Nairobi Saturday afternoon.


Rayon and Gor Mahia played out a 1-all draw in their first-leg clash in Kigali in March.


Former Gor Mahia’s Rwanda international Meddie Kagere scored the opener while left-back Eric Rutanga netted the equalizer from a well taken free-kick.

“We need to believe that we can reach quarterfinals because when you do the calculations, the chances are still there. We have to work hard and ensure we drop no point in the two games left – against Gor Mahia and Young Africans,” Manzi said.

While it will be a now-or-never encounter for Roberto Oliveira’s side, a draw on Sunday will be enough for the Kenyan champions to seal a slot in quarter-finals.

Ahead of the much-awaited game, Gor Mahia are in second position with eight points while Rayon are third with three points.

In another Group D fixture to be played Sunday, table leaders USM Algiers will be traveling to Dar es Salaam, Tanzania also looking for a draw to reach the round of last eight.

Meanwhile, officials from Zimbabwe will be in charge of the clash pitting Gor and Rayon.

Norman Matemera will be the centre referee and will be assisted by Thomas Kusosa and Luckson Mhara. Namore Mirambiwa will be the fourth official.

Titus Haimbili will be the General Coordinator while Ignacio Manuel, from Angola, will be the match commissioner.

Rayon’s 17-man squad Abouba Bashunga, Ange Mutsinzi, Saddam Nyandwi, Eric Rutanga, Abdul Rwatubyaye, Thierry Manzi, Gabriel Mugabo, François Master Mugisha, Olivier Sefu Niyonzima, Djabel Manishimwe, Kevin Muhire, Yassin Mugume, Nova Bayama, Gilbert Mugisha, Bonfils Caleb Bimenyimana, Donkor Prosper Kuka, and Gerard Stephane Kouame Brou.


Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News