Beating Telugu is always special, says Challengers skipper Vardheneni

Challengers Cricket Club players celebrate after beating Telugu Royals to win the 2018 league title at Gahanga Cricket Oval on Sunday. Courtesy.

Challengers Cricket captain Srinath Vardheneni has said that winning against Telugu Royals is always special.

Challengers rode their luck to defeat archrivals and then defending champions Telugu Royals by 18 runs on Sunday to clinch the 2018 Unimoni Premier League title, in a game that saw Duckwork-Lewis method come in play after a heavy downpour.

“It’s a great achievement, winning the league title cannot be more special than beating Telugu in the final. They had two top Ugandan national team players but still we won, that shows how our players have grown in strength and matured over the last few years,” he said.

Srinath, who was voted as this year’s player of the season, revealed that his side was largely inspired by the fear for last minute failures and disappointments after coming close to winning the trophy twice in 2016 and in 2017.

Telugu won the toss and decided to bowl first; managing 133 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs, a revised target of 152 runs in 20 overs. 

In return, Challengers managed to chase the target posting 242 runs for 9 in 48 overs.

Batsman Siraje Nsubuga contributed 76 runs off 106 balls while Ahmed Farista added 34 runs off 49 balls for Challengers.

Meanwhile, Kutchi Tigers won the men Division Two title, White Clouds cricket club claimed the women Division 1 title whereas the crown in women’s Division 2 went to Sorwathe.

Winners of Player of the Year awards

Men Division 1

Srinath Vardheneni

Division 2

Pankaj Vekaria

Women Division 1

Henriette Ishimwe

Division 2

Diane Ishimwe