Athletics: 16 teams set for Cross-Country Championships

James Sugira (right) is the reigning national cross country champion. File photo.

Over 200 runners from 16 teams are expected to participate in the 2018 edition of the annual National Cross Country Championship, which takes place on Saturday at Kicukiro Stadium.

Last year, Mountain Classic Athletics (MCA) youngster James Sugira was the winner.


Speaking to Saturday Sport on Friday, Rwanda Athletics Federation (RAF) Technical Director, Jean Pierre Ndacyayisenga, tipped this year’s edition to be a big success, and more competitive than previous ones.


Sixteen teams that have confirmed their participation include; APR,  New Athletics Stars (NAS), Mountain Classic (Gicumbi), Vision Jeuness Nouvelle (Rubavu), Kamonyi, Nyamasheke, SEC, Burera, Ntarama, Muhanga, Huye, Nyaruguru, Ngororero, Rutsiro, Rulindo and Police Athletics Club.


According to RAF, the competition will help the technical team to select athletes who will represent the country at the 2019 IAAF World Cross Country Championship in Denmark.


Senior men: 61 athletes

Senior women:19 athletes

Junior men: 57 athletes

Junior women:72 athletes


Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News