Agaciro Cup: Mukura to face Rayon in title decider

Mukura players appreciate their fans at Amahoro Stadium after beating APR on Friday to reach the final. The Huye-based side are debutants in the tournament. Courtesy.


Third place


Police Vs APR 1:30pm




Rayon Vs Mukura 3:30pm


Rayon 0-0 Police (Pen: 4-3)

Mukura 2-2 APR (Pen: 3-2)

RAYON Sports will be hoping to retain the Agaciro Cup title for a record third time when they face debutants Mukura in this year’s final at Amahoro Stadium on Sunday.

The two Rwanda Premier League archrivals reached the final on Friday after Mukura stunned APR 3-2 on penalties, while holders Rayon also beat Police 4-3 in shootouts.

In the first match, striker Samuel Chukwundi and former APR midfielder Evode Ntwari were on target for Mukura, while Lague Byiringiro scored twice for the army side who were looking for the club’s first Agaciro Cup title.

Centre-back Ange Mutsinzi, forward Djabel Manishimwe and former Police midfielder Mohamed Mushimiyimana missed APR penalties, while Jacques Olie, Samuel Nwosu and Hassan Rugirayabo converted for Mukura.

“We played against a good APR side that had several national team players, but we managed to win. I am pleased with the victory but, more importantly, I was able to observe the new players and the progress of the cohesion in both halves,” said Mukura coach Olivier Ovambe in a post-match interview.

Kevin Ishimwe and right-back Fitina Omborenga were the only successful takers for Adil Erradi’s APR, while only Burundi international Gael Duhayindavyi misfired on Mukura’s side.

Rayon in the final

In the meantime, Rayon have reached the tournament’s final for a third successive year after beating the 2015 winners, Police, in shootouts following a goalless stalemate in normal time.

The Blues had only Saidi Iragire’s penalty saved, with Micheal Sarpong, Herve Rugwiro, Yannick Bizimana and Eric Rutanga all converting theirs.

Mohamed Mpozembizi and Osee Iyabivuze missed two of Police’s penalties to see the law enforcers only left with a chance to win bronze if they beat APR in the third-place playoff on Sunday.

Eric Ngendahimana, Yusuf Lule Munyakazi and Celestin Ndayishimiye were the successful takers for Francis Haringingo’s side.

The final is guaranteed to be a heated affair between two of the country’s oldest clubs, with Rayon seeking to return the favour after losing the 2018 Peace Cup title to Mukura in dramatic shootouts at Kigali Stadium.

Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News