AFCON U23 Qualifiers: Amavubi enter camp ahead of DR Congo clash

Former Amavubi and APR forward Jimmy Mulisa is in charge of the team. He will be assisted by Djabil Mutarambirwa. File photo.

November 14

Rwanda        vs       DR Congo


November 21


DR Congo    vs       Rwanda


AMAVUBI and APR legend Jimmy Mulisa will lead the U23 national team, which begin preparations on Monday ahead of the first round of qualifiers for the 2019 Total U-23 Africa Cup of Nations against DR Congo.

The first-leg between the two countries is scheduled for November 14 at Umuganda Stadium in Rubavu District, before the return-leg encounter a week later in Kinshasa.

Mulisa summoned thirty players who joined residential camp at Hilltop Hotel in Remera on Sunday afternoon ahead of intensive preparations that start Monday at Kigali Stadium.

The team includes some of the notable youngsters in Azam Rwanda Premier League such as Rayon Sports’ midfielder Kevin Muhire, India-based centre-back Aimable Nsabimana, Tunisia-based duo of Innocent Nshuti (Stade Tunisien) and Abeddy Biramahire (CS Sfaxien) as well as APR’s winger Savio Dominique Nshuti to name a few.

The two Tunisia-based forwards and APR’s Lague Byiringiro will lead the hunt for goals against the Congolese side.

The Olympic Amavubi side will hold their training sessions in Kigali until November 8 when they will head to Rubavu to acclimatise.

The winner between Rwanda and DR Congo over the two-legged tie will take on Morocco in the second round which will be played in March next year. The winner will proceed to the third and final round which will be staged in June 2019.

The tournament, slated for November 8-22, 2019, will determine three teams that will represent Africa at the 2020 Summer Olympics in Japan.

This will be the 3rd edition of the Africa U-23 Cup of Nations.

Full provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Gael Cyuzuzo, Fiacre Ntwali, Djihad Nzeyirwanda, and Adolphe Hakizimana.

Defenders: Aime Placide Rwabuhihi, Prince Buregeya, Christian Ishimwe, Ange Mutsinzi, Claude Niyomugabo, Clement Niyigena, Marc Nkubana, Marc Nshimiyimana, Amza Runanira, Aimable Nsabimana and Derrick Ndahiro.

Midfielders: Janvier Bonane, Valeur Nduwayo, Saleh Ishimwe, Djabel Manishimwe, Borde Cyitegetse, Sadjati Niyonkuru, Tresor Byunvuhore, Jean Baptiste Rugambwa, Savio Dominique Nshuti, Kevin Muhire, Patrick Mugisha and Freddy Muhoza.

Forwards: Innocent Nshuti, Lague Byiringiro, Patrick Mugisha and Abeddy Biramahire.

Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

For news tips and story ideas please WhatsApp +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News