8 teams for beach volleyball league

Eight teams have registered to participate in the inaugural beach volleyball league that starts on Saturday afternoon at Amahoro Stadium.

The two-day competition will conclude on Sunday.

According to Adalbert Mfashimana, the Rwanda Volleyball Federation (FRVB) secretary general, the newly established championship is aimed at scouting for ‘capable’ players who will represent the country at the 2019 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour.

The world-class competition will be hosted by Rwanda in August 2019, in Rubavu District.

The league is structured to take place in two phases with the first happening this weekend at Amahoro Stadium while the second segment would take place on December 23-25.

The women’s competition will be held in December.

Full list of confirmed teams

1. REG

Pair 1:Flavien Ndamukunda and Olivier Ntagengwa

Pair 2: Christophe Mukunzi and Pierre Marchal Kwizera

2. UTB

Pair 1:Patrick Ruzindana and Emmanuel Mugisha

Pair 2: Claude Gakire and Yves Iradukunda

3. APR

Pair 1:  Venuste Gatsinzi and Fils Habanzintwari

Pair 2:  Barrack Rugira and Dieu est la Ndahayo

4. Gisagara

Pair 1:  Yvan Dukundane and Patrick Kavalo Akumuntu

Pair 2:   Yves Niyonkuru and Thierry Mugabo.


Follow The New Times on Google News