Kurji wins Pearl of Africa rally

Costa, Giancarlo put up good show Pearl of Africa Rally (Final results)Top 10R. Kurji  (Subaru)       01:20:05    M. Singh  (Subaru)       01:22:27J. Whyte  (Subaru)      01:24:54E. Katto  (Subaru)       01:27:00O. Costa  (Subaru)       01:27:41D. Giancarlo  (Subaru)      01:27:46M. Essa  (Subaru)       01:28:08J. Mangat  (Subaru)    01:30:20M. Abdul  (Subaru)   01:41:09R. Sebuguzi  (Mitsubishi)   01:43:20

Costa, Giancarlo put up good show

Pearl of Africa Rally (Final results)
Top 10
R. Kurji  (Subaru)       01:20:05   
M. Singh  (Subaru)       01:22:27
J. Whyte  (Subaru)      01:24:54
E. Katto  (Subaru)       01:27:00
O. Costa  (Subaru)       01:27:41
D. Giancarlo  (Subaru)      01:27:46
M. Essa  (Subaru)       01:28:08
J. Mangat  (Subaru)    01:30:20
M. Abdul  (Subaru)   01:41:09
R. Sebuguzi  (Mitsubishi)   01:43:20

AFTER yesterday’s meeting between the FIA stewards and organisers of the KCB Pearl of Africa rally, the deceased Ugandan rally ace Riyaz Kurji has been proclaimed champion of this year’s edition.

The timings were taken after the first ten competitive sections. In the lead was Kurji with a time of one hour, 20 minutes and five seconds.

Two-time African rally champion Muna Singh followed in second place (01:22:27) while last year’s champion Jamie Whyte of Zimbabwe finished third (01:24:54).

Emma Katto finished fourth (01:27:00) while Rwanda’s own Olivier Costa came in fifth place after clocking one hour, 27 minutes and 41 seconds.

Rwanda’s national rally champion Davite Giancarlo navigated by Sylvia Vindegovel in a Subaru finished sixth after returning a time of one hour, 27 minutes and 46 seconds. It was by far Giancarlo’s best performance this season and earned him his first ARC points (four).  

Kurji died on saturday after losing control of his car (Subaru) in the 11th Competitive Section in Malangala. He reportedly hit an anthill,and then a tree.

The tragic incident highlighted a grueling day of competition that saw Zimbabwe’s James Whyte roll his machine, Emma Katto break his rims and lady drivers Lola Verlaque, Susan Muwonge and Leila Mayanja crash out of the competition.

After his victory, Kurji becomes the first posthumous winner of an African Rally Championship tier. Kurji becomes only the second driver after Charles Lubega to win the Pearl of Africa rally three times.

On top of counting as the third round on the ARC, the KCB Pearl of Africa rally also doubles as the second leg of the inaugural KCB East African rally challenge.



Have Your SayLeave a comment