Last chance!

YesterdayStage 7 (Huye-Kibuye) 152km1) J.Tennent (MTN Qhubeka) 4:06:352) M.Kindeya (Ethiopia) 4:06:373) T.Dedae (Ethiopia) 4:08:054) K.Reijnen (Team Type 1) 4:08:176) J.Rosskopf (Team Type 1) 4:08:237) N.Byukusenge (Karisimbi) 4:08:2310 A.Niyonshuti (MTN Qhubeka) 4:08:33 General Classification1) K.Reijnen (Team Type 1) 17:47:422) J.Rosskopf (Team Type 1) 17:47:443) D.Girdlestone (MTN Qhubeka) 17:48:124) N.Byukusenge (Karisimbi) 17:49:035) A.Ruhumuriza (Karisimbi) 17:49:576) A.Niyonshuti (MTN Qhubeka) 17:50:588) E.Rudahunga (Akagera) 17:52:0110) G.Hategeka (Karisimbi) 17:52:4711)N.Habiyambere (Karisimbi) 17:55:08
 MTN Qhubeka's Adrien Niyonshuti is an outside favourite for this year's Tour of Rwanda title.
MTN Qhubeka's Adrien Niyonshuti is an outside favourite for this year's Tour of Rwanda title.

Stage 7 (Huye-Kibuye) 152km
1) J.Tennent (MTN Qhubeka) 4:06:35
2) M.Kindeya (Ethiopia) 4:06:37
3) T.Dedae (Ethiopia) 4:08:05
4) K.Reijnen (Team Type 1) 4:08:17
6) J.Rosskopf (Team Type 1) 4:08:23
7) N.Byukusenge (Karisimbi) 4:08:23
10 A.Niyonshuti (MTN Qhubeka) 4:08:33

General Classification
1) K.Reijnen (Team Type 1) 17:47:42
2) J.Rosskopf (Team Type 1) 17:47:44
3) D.Girdlestone (MTN Qhubeka) 17:48:12
4) N.Byukusenge (Karisimbi) 17:49:03
5) A.Ruhumuriza (Karisimbi) 17:49:57
6) A.Niyonshuti (MTN Qhubeka) 17:50:58
8) E.Rudahunga (Akagera) 17:52:01
10) G.Hategeka (Karisimbi) 17:52:47
11)N.Habiyambere (Karisimbi) 17:55:08

Stage 8
Karongi-Kigali (131km)

LOCAL riders have one last shot at this year’s Tour of Rwanda when the race hits the climax with a 131km stage from Karongi to Kigali today.

Nathan Byukusenge, who is fourth in the general classification, remains Rwanda’s best-placed rider. The Karisimbi rider is 1 minute and 21 seconds off the pace and needs a smooth race to have a chance of winning what would be his maiden Tour of Rwanda title.

Four-time champion Abraham Ruhumuriza (17hours, 49 minutes and 57 seconds) and Adrien Niyonshuti (17 hours, 50 minutes and 58 seconds) follow closely in 5th and 6th position.

Team Type 1 rider Kiel Reijnen is odds on favourite to win the race after reclaiming the yellow jersey from team-mate Joey Rosskopf at the end of yesterday’s grueling 152km stage from Huye to Karongi.

Reijnen leads the charts with an overall time of 17 hours, 47 minutes and 42 seconds; two seconds clear of Rosskopf.

MTN Qhubeka’s James Tennent won the stage after clocking 4 hours, six minutes and 35 seconds. Ethiopia’s Msgena Kindeya and Tedros Dedae followed closely in second and third place after clocking (4:06:37) and (4:08:05) respectively.

Niyonshuti and Byukusenge held onto the white and blue jerseys after emerging as the best climber and Rwandan respectively.


Subscribe to The New Times E-Paper

You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News