Amavubi duo dropped for Sudan CHAN game

Saturday Tanzania   v   Uganda Sunday Sudan   v   Rwanda
BACK: Ismail Nshutinamagara (L), OUT: Kalisa Kase (C), DROPPED: Mbuyu Twite(R).
BACK: Ismail Nshutinamagara (L), OUT: Kalisa Kase (C), DROPPED: Mbuyu Twite(R).


Tanzania   v   Uganda

Sudan   v   Rwanda

Blanko Tucak has dropped the pair of Mbuyu Twite and Kalisa Kase from his squad that traveled to Khartoum for the African Championship first round clash with Sudan scheduled for Sunday.

The 28-man delegation that included 18 players and 10 officials left Kigali International Airport yesterday afternoon aboard Kenya Airways.

The DR Congo’s born pair along with Patrick Mutesa Mafisango were the most prominent omission from the 18-man team expected to engage the Desert Hawks in an African Championship qualifier in Khartoum. 

Kase, who is nursing a bruised hip, featured in the preliminary round second leg tie against Burundi last month.
While Mbuyu, who previously featured for Amavubi Stars during last year’s Cecafa Cup in Tanzania ruled himself out of the Sudan clash on personal grounds.

The newly appointed Croatian born coach handed a chance to Atraco defender Ismail Nshutinamagara and Mukura’s Bodo Ndikumana.

The Croat will rely on youngsters; Jean-Baptist Mugiraneza, Haruna Niyonzima and Aphrodis Hategikimana together with veteran midfielder Honore Kabongo when he makes his debut on the Amavubi Stars technical bench.

Amavubi Stars drew Sudan after eliminating Burundi in the preliminary round of the newly introduced African Nations Championship. 

Rwanda which lost to Sudan on 4-5 penalties after a 2-all draw in last year’s Cecafa Cup held in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania will be playing for revenge.

Meanwhile, Uganda will play Tanzania in the region’s other crucial fixture whose winner would play the winner between Sudan and Rwandan next month.

Squad: J.C Ndoli, J.C Ndayishimiye, E. Ntaganda, B. Hategikimana, Rucogoza, A. Gaseruka, J.Mugiraneza,A. Hategikimana, H. Niyonzima, A. Mulenda, R. Tuyisenge,I. Nshutinamagara, J.Lomami, E. Uzamukunda, J. Gatete, M. Girinshuti, H. Kabongo and B. Ndikumana.

Coaching staff: B. Tucak, R. Shungu, E. Nshimiyimana, J. Bazigangango, T. Higiro and M. Hakizimana.
Officials; J. Kalisa, J. Butoyi, B. Nsabimana and M. Weiss.


You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News