Ex-ministers land Government jobs

KIGALI - Former cabinet ministers have returned to government circles hardly a week after they were replaced in last Friday’s cabinet reshuffle.
 Nyaruhirira, Muganza (middle) and Nshuti
Nyaruhirira, Muganza (middle) and Nshuti

KIGALI - Former cabinet ministers Prof. Manasseh Nshuti, Angelina Muganza, Joseph Murekeraho and Dr Innocent Nyaruhirira, have all returned to government circles hardly a week after they were replaced in last Friday’s cabinet reshuffle.

A cabinet meeting on Wednesday appointed Nshuti, former Minister of Public Service, Skills Development and Labour, as  the new Senior Economic Advisor to the President. It also named former State Minister in the same ministry, Muganza, as the Executive Secretary of the newly established Public Service Commission.

A communiqué signed by Dr Charles Murigande- who is now the Minister for the new portfolio of Cabinet Affairs-indicates that the same meeting also appointed the former State Minister for Primary and Secondary Education, Joseph Murekeraho, the Executive Chairman of UMWALIMU SACCO, a new fund set up to extend affordable loans to teachers.

The forrmer State Minister for HIV/Aids and other Infectious Diseases, Dr Innocent Nyaruhirira, is now the Executive Chairman of King Faysal Hospital.

The Cabinet also appointed Justin Nsengiyumva as the Secretary General in the Ministry of Education, replacing Narsis Musabeyezu. Nsengiyumva, who has been the Secretary General in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, has been succeeded by Antoine Ruvebana.

Claire Umubyeyi Bisamaza takes over the post of Secretary General in the newly-established Ministry of Youth.

The meeting also extended the mandate of the Governor of the National Bank of Rwanda (BNR), Francois Kanimba, and named Ephrem Turahirwa as the central bank’s Vice  Governor, replacing Consolate Rusagara.

Former ministers Jean de Dieu Mucyo– who was until recently the head of the  Commision of Inquiry into alleged role played by France in the 1994 Genocide– was appointed as the Executive Secretary of the newly established National Anti-Genocide Commission; while Bonaventure Niyibizi was made the chairman of the seven-member Public Service Commission.

It also named former Governor of the Southern Province and Presidential Advisor Eraste Kabera as the Companies’ Registrar General.

The cabinet also named 153 people to land commissions in Kigali City and all the country’s 30 districts, and seven others to the National Land Commission.

The same meeting, chaired by President Paul Kagame and held at Village Urugwiro, also appointed seven people on the board of the newly created Rwanda Public Procurement Authority (RPPA) with Commerce ministry’s Damien Mugabo becoming the board chairman.

Augustus Seminega was named the authority’s director. RPPA takes over the roles of the National Tender Board (NTB).

The cabinet also confirmed members of the Genocide Fugitives Tracking Unit, which is headed by Prosecution Spokesman Jean Bosco Mutangana. It also appointed ten principal State Attorneys.

The   cabinet further decided that this year’s official commemoration of the 1994  Genocide of Tutsis will be held on April 7 at Nyamata in Bugesera District, Eastern Province as part of celebrations to mark the 14th anniversary of the Genocide.

You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News