Teklehaimanot wins Stage two

Tour of Rwanda Stage 2 (Kigali - Gicumbi - Kigali) - 116km 1) D. Teklehaimanot (ERI) 1:25:172) A. Jelloul (MAR) +00:083) M. Dawit (ERI) +00:087) A. Niyonshuti (RWA)  +00:1316) N. Byukusenge (RWA) +01:1821) G. Hategeka (RWA) +02:0424) N. Habiyambere (RWA) +02:0525) S. Abdelaati (MOR)  +02:0531) U. Nyandwi (RWA) +04:00
Niyonshuti finished 7th yesterday. (Net photo)
Niyonshuti finished 7th yesterday. (Net photo)

Tour of Rwanda

Stage 2 (Kigali - Gicumbi - Kigali) - 116km

1) D. Teklehaimanot (ERI) 1:25:17
2) A. Jelloul (MAR) +00:08
3) M. Dawit (ERI) +00:08
7) A. Niyonshuti (RWA)  +00:13
16) N. Byukusenge (RWA) +01:18
21) G. Hategeka (RWA) +02:04
24) N. Habiyambere (RWA) +02:05
25) S. Abdelaati (MOR)  +02:05
31) U. Nyandwi (RWA) +04:00


Stage 3 (Kigali - Rubavu) 148.9km

NEW African continental cycling champion Daniel Teklehaimanot will don the yellow jersey in today’s stage 3 after winning yesterday’s grueling 116km stage (Kigali-Gicumbi-Kigali).

The Eritrean, who fell to South Africa’s Janse Van Rensburg Reinhardt in Wednesday’s opening stage, sent out a strong message after breaking away from his compatriot Meror Dawit and last year’s winner Adil Jelloul in the final 3km.

Teklehaimanot, 22, used 1 hour, 25 minutes and 17 micro seconds to finish eight micro-seconds clear of Jelloul and Dawit, the other two podium finishers.

Jelloul claimed the green jersey (best mountain climber) while Adrien Niyonshuti, who came in 7th position after clocking 1:26:35 went home with the blue jersey after emerging as the best Rwanda in the stage.

It was a frustrating day for last year’s runner-up Saadoune Abdelaati (25th), Janse Van Rensburg Reinhardt (19th) and Team Rwanda’s quartet Nathan Byukusenge (16th), Gasore Hategeka (21st), Nicodem Habiyambere (24th) and Uwase Nyandwi (31st).

Of 120 riders, only 49 riders managed to finish.
16 teams are in contention this year and they include Castelsarrasin from France, Belgium’s Flanders AVIA, Team Type 1 of USA, Seychelles, Kenya, Libya, Egypt, Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Cameroon, Great Lakes team, new African champions Eritrea, UCI Continental and two teams for Rwanda; Team Rwanda Akagera and Team Rwanda.

Tigo, Rwanda Development Board (RDB), Western Union, Ministry of Sports and Culture, Fina Bank and Reco-Rwasco have all thrown their weight behind the tour.



Have Your SayLeave a comment