Kamonyi, Rubavu districts get new mayors

Alice Kayitesi and Gilbert Habyarimana are the new mayors of Kamonyi and Rubavu districts, respectively.

Alice Kayitesi and Gilbert Habyarimana are the new mayors of Kamonyi and Rubavu districts, respectively.

The two leaders were elected in local government by-elections conducted countrywide that started October 28 to fill a total of 15,014 positions whose occupants resigned or fell vacant for other reasons.

Kayitesi, who was a councillor from Musambira Sector, won 191 votes to beat her competitors Prosper Harelimana and Josiane Niyonshima, while Gilbert Habyarimana, who was the cooperative inspection division manager at Rwanda Co-operative Agency, was elected with 91 votes to beat Jeanne d’Arc Usabinema.

Kayitesi said she will strive to bring positive change in Kamonyi, especially in agriculture where banana, cassava and rice have great potential to thrive.

“I will work with you in bringing significant change in all sectors, especially agriculture, the dominant occupation for most of the people of Kamonyi,” she said.

She also hinted at the dismal performance by the district during last year’s performance contract where it emerged 19th, saying she will require cooperation with all organs in the district to raise performance.

The mayors are elected by a district council made up of representatives of all the sectors in the district, representatives of youth and women in the district, a representative of the private sector in the district, as well as those representing people with disabilities in the district.

According to the National Electoral Commission, the elections were flawless except for rain disruptions in some areas.

Immacullee Mukarurangwa, the NEC vice-executive secretary, told Saturday Times that citizens’ participation was above 70 per cent, and that the candidates campaigned in a peaceful and orderly.

Burera and Nyagatare districts elected presidents of district council while Gicumbi elected vice-president of the council.

Other positions that were filled during the by-elections included cell executive committees and councils, councillors, as well as representatives of women, youth, and people with disabilities.

The elections followed of local leaders held in February and March 2016.