RAC unveils Rwanda Mt. Gorilla rally routes

Rwanda Automobile Club has confirmed the routes for this year’s Rwanda Mt. Gorilla rally, slated to run from August 12 to 14 in Nyamata, Bugesera District.

ARC drivers ranking
1. Don Smith (KEN) 79 points
2. Muna Singh Jnr (ZMB) 50 points
2 Gary Chaynes (CIV) 25 points
4. Ismail Shermohamed (ZMB) 15 points

Position manufacturers
1. Subaru 50 points
2. Mitsubishi 25 points


Rwanda Automobile Club has confirmed the routes for this year’s Rwanda Mt. Gorilla rally, slated to run from August 12 to 14 in Nyamata, Bugesera District.


The three-day rally, which is also the fifth round on the Africa Rally Championships calendar, will cover a total distance of 449 kilometers of which 201km will be competitive.


The competition will kick-off from Golden Tulip Hotel in Nyamata, which will serve as the event headquarters.

According to the Clerk of the course, Eric Maxime Nzamwita, the route has been set and preparations are in high gear in readiness for the big event.

“We have our plans ready with a total of thirteen competitive stages with Nyamata town hosting the shortest spectator of 4.53 kms. The special stage will be done twice like the rest of the other stages,’’ Nzamwita reveals.

Rwanda is expected to take center stage at the ARC contest with favourites Don Smith (ARC leader) of Kenya and Zambia’s Muna Singh battling it out for the top honors with just two rounds of the series remaining.

With a cushion of 29 points lead over the Zambian, Smith has to make sure he finishes both the last events to help Kenya retain the continental title for a second year running. Smith has already submitted his entry form long before normal entries close on 31st July.

Other foreign drivers expected to take part in the event include; Desh Kananura, Kuku Ranjit, Omar Mayanja, Muna Singh Jnr, Kabega Musa, Rudy Cantanhede, Sultan Kalula, and Bukera Vallery.

Kenya’s Jaspteet Chatthe, who won in Rwanda last year, is the reigning ARC Champion, though he opted out of defending the title for the second consecutive season.

The Rwanda Mt. Gorilla rally will start and end up in Gako, because the organizers had their request turned down by the Ministry of Sports and Culture to have the circuit at Amahoro national stadium.


You want to chat directly with us? Send us a message on WhatsApp at +250 788 310 999    


Follow The New Times on Google News